Damned, Damned, Damned

March 10, 2024 at 6:12 pm (Uncategorized)

A few years back, Brian James and Rat Scabies, founding members of the Damned, were scheduled to play a show at Lee’s Palace in Toronto. Intrigued, I bought a ticket for the show at the sadly now-closed Soundscapes. A few weeks later, the show was cancelled due to poor ticket sales. I went to Soundscapes to get a refund, and the guy working there smiled, “Oh, you were the one that bought that ticket.” Don’t know how many tickets sold at other outlets, but I suspect I was part of a rather small group.

Which brings me to my point. After 34 years, the Damned are touring North America, and with the line-up from the 80s (Dave Vanian, Captain Sensible, Paul Grey, and Rat Scabies). They’re playing the Danforth Music Hall on May 27. My rule is never to see reunion tours with a few exceptions – if I never saw them in their prime or if they were a band I always wanted to see but never did. And the Damned never really broke up. I’m sure it won’t be like seeing them in their prime, but I’m willing to risk this one.

Leave a comment