Comic Links III

July 15, 2010 at 7:08 pm (Uncategorized)

Ready for some summer time reading? Too lazy to try serious literature? These might be too hard as well, but at least they have pictures.

1. American Vampire (Vertigo)

My favourite book at the moment. AV features two stories per issue. The lead story by Scott Snyder is about a 1920s Hollywood wanna-be actress who becomes one of a new breed of vampire. The second written by Stephen King is the back story to the American Vampire.  

2. Cages

Originally published between 1990 and 1996, Cages is Dave McKean’s graphic novel. McKean is a long time collaborator with Neil Gaiman, and also drew Grant Morrison’s Arkham Asylum. This is a beautiful solo project; dreamy art with mediations of freedom, existence and  creativity.

3, Eerie Volume 1 (Dark horse)

The first issue of Eerie was published in 1966 by Warren (who later published Creepy and Vampirella) . Eerie featured originally monster and horror stories drawn by artists who would become legends (Frank Frazetta, Gene Colan, Wally Wood and many more) The good people at Dark Horse have thoughtfully packaged the first half-dozen issues into a lovely hardcover book. Don’t read it at midnight!

4. Buffy the Vampire Slayer (Dark Horse)

Arrghh. I have to say I’m not altogether, um, liking, the comic book. (It probably doesn’t help that I’m re-watching Season 3 right now). The Twilight Story line was interesting, but the denouement is a bit daft. That and the fact that pretty much every character from the Buffyverse has returned makes it feels forced.

5. Angel (IDW)

On the other hand… I liked the Los Angeles in Hell story line, but again the ending seemed weak (the equivalent of ‘and then I woke up it was all a dream). For the next haf dozen issues, the story seemed lost.And then, Bill Willingham (of Fables), stepped in. The dialogue is crisper, the stories tighter. A good direction.

X-Men Noir

I love detective stories, I love film noir, and I love comic books. So put them all together and I’m sure to be happy. Take the X-Men and transpose them to the 1930s, add a murder story, and reinvent the characters. Eg., Unus the Untouchable as a crime lord, professor X as a psychiatrist, Magneto as the chief of Police with Sebastian Shaw the real power behind the city. Reminded me a lot of the Fallen Angel series, and that’s a compliment. The 4-issue series also comes with a faux-pulp fiction story about the Sentinals and the morlocks. Who could resist?

7. Hellblazer: Pandemonium

I don’t read Hellblazer regularly, but whenever I go through a collection, I wonder why. This original graphic novel is written by Jamie Delano, who penned the first fifty issues, and takes Constantine to the middle east to duel with genies and devils against the backdrop of the conflict in Iraq. Highly recommended.

8. From Hell – Alan Moore and Eddie Campbell

Many, many years ago, I started reading Alan Moore’s Jack the Ripper story. I bought the first four chapters, then for some inexplicable reason not the rest. A few years back, the whole series was packaged into one massive volume. Never bought that either, but last week I discovered it in a book store for $15. Worth every penny. Moore’s account blends fact and fiction, but the real treasure is the ample footnotes at the back of the book where Moore explains his sources. It may not solve the mystery, but it’s one hell of a story.

9. Witchfinder

I’ve stopped reading Mike Mignola in single issue format. Instead, I usually wait for the TPBs to come out. It’s just more satisfying to read them this way (plus Mike usually throws in lots of desirable extras) I just got Witchfinder last week. It’s the story of Queen Victoria’s occult investigator. After you’ve read this, you should check out Carnacki, the occult detective.

10. Power Girl

Last year a friend of mine went to a comic convention and brough me back some swag. One was a catalogue for action figures and statues. Couldn’t help but notice the model of Power Girl. For those who don’t know, Power Girl is Superman’s cousin for Earth 2 (the equivalent of Supergirl on Earth 1). Looking at her rather ample proportions, I wonder if he main super power is the ability to stand up straight without back strain. I guess we’ve all teenage boys at heart.

Permalink 2 Comments