Music Notes July 2017

July 28, 2017 at 11:35 am (Uncategorized)

And off we go!

1 The Beatles – Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Heart’s Club Band

I’ve never been a Beatles fan, but since this record is now enjoying its 50th anniversary, I thought I’d give it a mention. I know everyone says this is the greatest British record of all time, but it doesn’t do it for me. I’ve heard the songs, and while it works better as a single sitting, it doesn’t move me; except “She’s Leaving Home” which still makes me cry. To each his own.

2. The Punk Singer

Sini Anderson’s documentary about Bikini Kill, Le Tigra, Julie Ruin frontwoman Kathleen Hanna. Well worth watching this informative and excited film. Lots of cool footage.

3. 75 Dollar Bill – Wood/Metal/Plastic/Pattern/Rhythm/Rock

An instrumental  duo from New York who sound as if they spent a lot of time listening to Spacemen 3 and desert blues create something marvellous.  My favourite discovery this month.

4. X-Ray Spex – Let’s Submerge: The Anthology

I’m as good as my word. After mentioned their only record last month, I sought the extended version. This has everything from the album along with the singles, but so much more: Demos, Peel sessions, Live at the Roxy, studio demos. It even includes Polly’s pre-Spex debut single (cute, but forgettable), and an entirely unnecessary cover of “Age” which appears on her first solo album.

5. Soft Cell – “Wave Hello Say Goodbye.”

My favourite Soft Cell song recently cropped up in an episode of Aziz Ansari’s Master of None. It’s a perfect pop song, and anything I can add doesn’t do it justice.

6 Blondie –Pollinator 

Hey, a new Blondie album; something to be excited about. Never thought I’d say that. Sure, I have the first three records, but after that, I lose interest. This is a return to that early punky Shangri-Las sound. And it’s pro-bee!

7. Danny Says

If you saw Zelig, you remember he seemed to be at the heart of everything. Always in the background, but always there. Here’s the truth. Danny Fields is Zelig. The Doors, the MC5, the Stooges, The Velvet Underground, the Ramones. So much more. Every cool band, Danny was part of that story. Hell, he’s the one who ruined America for the Beatles by reprinting the “Bigger than Jesus” interview. Fascinating.

8. The Regrettes – “Fox on the Run”

Ah…I really like this cover.

 

9. The Last Pogo Jumps Again 

The Last Pogo was a film about a punk show at the Horseshoe Tavern in Toronto featuring many of the big names from the scene. This is a full length documentary (almost 3 hours) about that scene.It’s an astonishing look at what was and what should have been featuring the Diodes, the Demics, the Viletones, the B-Girls, the Ugly and many, many more. Go and find this, then search for the bands. It won’t be easy, but it’s worth it.

10. Pavement “Cut your Hair”

Decided to watch Netflix’s new show Friends from College (basically Friends a few years later, but with infidelity). The Pavement song is the theme. Hadn’t heard it in a while, but now I want to listen to all of those Pavement albums again.

OK then.

Leave a Reply

