A.D. – Life, Death and Memory

July 16, 2017 at 8:02 pm (Uncategorized)

Scott Snyder and Jeff Lemire’s collaboration A.D. is now available as a collected volume.  It’s quite a lovely work considering the connections between life and death, and memory. My father-in-law turned 87 today. I turned 53 last week.  The following has a resonance to it:

“And now all I can think about the biological capital of youth. that essence that thing that you have as a kid, a physical element, but a psychological, even spiritual element – a deep, cellular knowledge that you are rich in life. You have the stuff that matters most. You are buoyant with it. Buoyant. You see it in the way teenagers look at you…that sly, slow-blinking way. Like they’re looking down even when they’re looking up at you, like: I might have acne, I might not be having sex yet, I might not have money or freedom or anything, but I’m richer than you, because I am FULL. ”

A.D After Death Book Three

Leave a Reply

