PJ Harvey Shakes Massey Hall.

April 29, 2017 at 7:58 pm (Uncategorized)

Tell you my name F U C K

How long have I waited to see PJ Harvey? Well, quite some time. I’ve almost all of her albums, and it can be a harrowing experience. I remember driving around the Cabot Trail on Cape Breton with a friend and  put on 4 Track Demos. We got through 2 or 3 songs, before she made me take it off.

But before I start, I have to confess to mixed feelings. PJ Harvey was brilliant. Just brilliant, but…I really like Massey Hall as a venue. The sound is good, the view is good. It’s big, but it doesn’t feel as if you’re in a giant box like, say, the  Sound Academy or whatever it’s called now does. . But, I was pretty unhappy with the seats . We were further away from the stage than I anticipated, and the while we could see Ms. Harvey, stage left was hidden from us. Second, the seats were tiny. I’m tall, but not that tall. When I say down, my knees were jammed up against the seat in front of me, and that was the way it remained for the rest of the evening, except when we got far enough into the set that everyone stood.

So then.  A little after 8:30, PJ and her band took to the stage. And a band it was;  maybe 10 people besides Ms. Harvey although given the view it was hard to tell (Shut up about it already – Ed.) During the eighty minute set, Harvey tore through most of her latest album The Hope 6 Demolition Project along with tracks from most of her other records including fantastic versions of “To Bring you by Love and “Down by the Water.” (Nothing from Dry though – I would have loved to heard “Sheela Na Gig”). Silent between songs until near the end of the set, Harvey stalked the stage during, alternating between singing and playing a honking sax. A two song encore, and we went home happy.

  1. Chain of Keys
  2. The Ministry of Defence
  3. The Community of Hope
  4. The Orange Monkey
  5. A Line in the Sand
  6. Let England Shake
  7. The Words that Maketh Murder
  8. The Glorious Land
  9. Medicinals
  10. When Under Ether
  11. Dollar, Dollar
  12. The Devil
  13. The Wheel
  14. The Ministry of Social Affairs
  15. 50 ft Queenie
  16.  To Bring you my Love
  17. River Anacostia

Encore

  1. Highway 61 Revisited
  2. The Last Living Rose

(from Setlist.fm )

2 Comments

  1. tomasronse said,

    which are yr favorite PJ songs?

    From: Notes from Underground To: tomronse@yahoo.com Sent: Saturday, April 29, 2017 3:58 PM Subject: [New post] PJ Harvey Shakes Massey Hall. #yiv6766571783 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv6766571783 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv6766571783 a.yiv6766571783primaryactionlink:link, #yiv6766571783 a.yiv6766571783primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv6766571783 a.yiv6766571783primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv6766571783 a.yiv6766571783primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv6766571783 WordPress.com | fischerzed posted: “Tell you my name F U C KHow long have I waited to see PJ Harvey? Well, quite some time. I’ve almost all of her albums, and it can be a harrowing experience. I remember driving around the Cabot Trail on Cape Breton with a friend and  put on 4 Track Dem” | |

    • fischerzed said,

      Ah, my favourite album is probably To Bring you My Love, though I’m very fond of Rid of Me, and Let England Shake is awesome.

Leave a Reply

