Post One Thousand

January 20, 2017 at 2:44 am (Uncategorized)

Hmm. It feels as if this should be something more profound, being the one thousandth post and all, but this is what it is.

After I wrapped up Red & Black Notes when I joined Internationalist Perspective, I still felt a need to write something. Sure I wrote articles for IP, but sometimes you want to write things that wouldn’t fit there. Notes from Underground is the name of a story by Dostoevsky, btu I think I got the idea during a conversation with Loren Goldner. Just liked the sound of it.

While there are about 30 subscribers to this blog (the number fluctuates), the number of daily “hits” is down from a few years back. The peak was around 30, but not it’s about 10 – 20 a day. Most popular post? My reprinting of Margaret Atwood’s “Song of the Worms.” Followed by an essay I wrote on Goya, and then a reflection on Orwell’s “Politics and the English Language. ”

So that’s a thousand.  A new issue of IP will likely be coming along, and that will generate some posts. I also have Netflix now (Daredevil and Jessica Jones are taking up increasingly large chunks of my free time) and I’m sure Trump’s reign of error will provoke something.

Lates.

Leave a Reply

