It Was 35 Years Today…

July 1, 2016 at 4:36 pm (Uncategorized)

No, it wasn’t Sgt. Pepper bringing the band to play.

July 1st is Canada Day. I briefly contemplated heading to downtown Toronto today where Captain Canuck wqs handing out free copies of the Chapterhouse Summer Special comic featuring Canuck, the Pitiful Human Lizard and more, but…

  1. I don’t really like parades
  2. That many maple leafs in one place would likely spark an allergic reaction
  3. It’s raining

And so, onto other things. Such as the subject of the post. It was 35 years ago today that I came to Canada, a few days short of my 17th birthday. It’s a bit foggy now, but I remember my uncle picking up the family in what seemed like a gigantic car and driving us along that endless highway to Port Dalhousie near St. Catharines on the shores of Lake Ontario.

I grew up on American and Canadian TV (for some reason both ITV and the BBC aired a lot of shows made by CTV – Forest Rangers, Swiss Family Robinson etc – go figure), but nothing quite prepares you for how big everything is. My image of the US, and Canada I suppose, was big. Big cars, big streets, big meals, big people. And Just more of everything. Imagine my surprise when I  find actual examples of that TV-filtered reality. In comparison, everything in England seemed, well, small and provincial.  Insular. Didn’t take long to shed those illusions though.

Wonder what the weather’s like in England today.

 

Leave a Reply

