Oh, Canada?

January 17, 2016 at 4:00 pm (Uncategorized)

I’m not a nationalist at all, but given the fact that I’ve lived most of my life in Canada, I can’t help but read articles written outside of the country about it. (As I read this over before publishing, I realize it might seem like it’s nationalist, but really it’s not) . The last major interest was probably when Halifax, Nova Scotia was touted as being the next Seattle, but maybe I’m missing something.

But when I opened up today’s New York Times, the lead article in the style section was about the rise of Justin Trudeau and Canada’s new cool. So quick were the editors to try to get ahead of this they included Gilda Radner and Andrea Martin in the list – both Americans, but hey, it’s cool.  (the online edition of the story omitted their names from the list). I remember a CBC show in the mid-eighties called “The Canadian Conspiracy” showing all of the Canadians in the US entertainment industry and wondering was this a …co-incidence? Actually, a lot of Canadian comedians do come from Hamilton, Ontario, and I can be seen very briefly in a crowd scene filmed at McMaster University as I trudge through the snow (how Canadian!) on the way to class.

Anyway, it’s an absurd piece as you might expect.A bit like after years of stereotyping Soviet women as overweight lumpy style less creatures, the media suddenly discovered stunning, stylish beauties after “the Fall of Communism.”  At least when Stephen Colbert called Canadians “moose-munching ice-holes” he was kidding 🙂

Leave a Reply

