‘Twas the Day Before Christmas

December 24, 2015 at 8:48 pm (Uncategorized)

And to paraphrase Joey Ramone,

“Hanging out in Don Mills and there’s nothing to do;
It ain’t Christmas if there ain’t no snow.”

I walked around today in 15 degree weather (that’s Celsius kids), in brilliant sunshine. A few weeks back, there was a joke circulating about Syrian refugees arriving in Canada and saying to each other, “See, the weather’s not so bad here.”  I lived in England until I was 17, and a white Christmas was never a certainty. More often than not, a grey, wet Christmas. But it’s funny how those traditions sink in. I don’t think I ever celebrated Christmas in a religious fashion, but if we didn’t do anything now, I expect I would feel vaguely disappointed. This year, my parents are coming to our place, but it’ll be a vegetarian holiday and no crackers (sorry mum).

Last night, I was surfing channels and one of the stations was showing the Seinfeld Festivus episode. It’s still funny almost twenty years later.

Cheers.

 

 

Leave a Reply

