Starbucks vs. Christmas (the Silly Season is Here)

November 29, 2015 at 4:46 pm (Uncategorized)

With a little snowfall here in Toronto last week, and the weather getting colder, you can’t help but notice that it’s almost Christmas. as a kid, I usedto get so excited. I’d run to the front door on Christmas morning and yell, “Mum, Dad, it’s Christmas. You have to let me in now!” OK, sorry.

Still, if it is the holiday season, it wouldn’t be complete without the usual nonsesne:  The War on Christmas.

The one I’m still chuckling over, even though is was a week or so back, is Starbucks.  Josh Fuerstein “American evangelist, Internet and social Media Personality” (no, no, it’s too easy to mock that one) posted a video about Starbucks’ new red coffee cups which sported no Christmas greetings. He suggested people engage in a campaign to put the holiday back into Starbucks

My general sense is that people are reacting in three ways:

  1. Starbucks hates Christmas
  2. Are you insane? It’s just a fucking cup that you’re going to throw away.
  3. Mmm.. I think I’ll go to Starbucks

(Put me down for options 2 and 3)

In his video post,  Fueurstein boasted he had “tricked” Starbucks into saying “Merry Christmas” by claiming his name was “Merry Christmas” and having them write it on his drink order. Erm, Josh, you know they only write that on the drink order they have to make. you know, the ones that run to $4 or $5. And you’re encouraging all of your friends to do the same? Yeah, I’m sure Starbucks is pretty unhappy you tricked them.

Expect more. Oh and shortly after I started to write this piece, I came across Esquire’s The 12 Days of the War on Christmas. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

