A Few Words about Luna

October 26, 2015 at 1:42 am (Uncategorized)

I was a late convert to the work on Dean Wareham. And to be honest it was a book that won me over. I read his autobiography Black Postcards on the plane on a trip to Florida and decided I needed to know more about him. A week or so back, my wife and I (my wife read the book too and had pretty much the same reaction) went to see the reformed Luna play a show at the Danforth Music Hall.

We missed the opening band Diane Coffee, the side project of Fogygen drummer Shaun Flemming, but it was a trade-off between seeing the band and not having to stand for another ninety minutes. Age won out.

Luna came on around 9:30, and it’s hard to describe the feeling. Like a bunch of old friends reconnecting, except that we weren’t friends to begin with. Low-key, but the sound gradually crept over us, a warm sonic fuzz. Along with Wareham, Brita Phillips, Lee Wall and Sean Eden carried us through a seventy minute set of dream-pop sounds. A great experience. like being a little drunk, but sober enough to understand the world.

Set list

 

  • Slide
  • California (All the Way)
  • Chinatown
  • Still at Home
  •  Malibu Love Nest
  • Tiger Lily
  • Sideshow by the Seashore 
  • Tracy I Love You
  • Lost in Space
  •  Freakin’ and Peakin’ 
  • Bewitched 
  • Friendly Advice 
    Encore
  • Everybody’s Talking
  •   Moon Palace
  • 23 Minutes in Brussels
1 Comment

  1. Goodbye 2015 | Notes from Underground said,

    […] Luna, John Cooper Clarke, the Sonics, the Rezillos. Bands I never thought I’d see, but they all played Toronto this year. Now, my usual rule is not to see bands on the revival circuit, but my exception is that if I never saw the band in their prime, I might go. There are reviews for all of these bands on this blog. It’s nice to remember.  (Caveat: I saw the Rezillos a couple of years back, but I had such a good time, I thought I would break my rule and see them as they toured with a new record. Mistake) […]

Leave a Reply

