Music Notes – July 2015

July 31, 2015 at 7:54 pm (Uncategorized)

Listen up!

1. Blur – Modern Life is Rubbish

I was never a big Blur fan, but a friend insisted I listen to this charming album.  Yeah, it’s good.

2. Sharon Van Etten – I Don’t Want to Let You Down

A five-song release of slow stuff, which seems to dig its claws in deeper with every listen.

3. Waxahatchee – Ivy Trip

Another of a seemingly endless run of amazing female artists who can produce heartbreaking emotional songs, then follow them up with solid rockers. This is Katie Crutchfield’s third.

4. Jamie XX – In Colour

Did I ever mention I was at a show with Jamie XX? I went to see 2:54 at the Horseshoe Tavern. There were thirty people there; Jamie and I were there. Unfortunately, my story is made less cool by the fact I didn’t speak to him or know he was there until after the show. Still. In Colour is a lot clubbier than his XX releases. Qualify that, funkier. Heavier beats over the more familiar XX sound.  And it sounded great in the car.

5. Jon Fine – Your band Sucks 

Jon Fine was the guitar player in Bitch Magnet. This is his story. Brimming with attitude and opinions, as well as humour, and marvellous stories. It’s the kind of musical autobiography that anyone who got into a music subculture, yeah I think it has to be that, will find cool. Saddest story though was chatting with another musician who discovered when he went to his high school reunion he still wasn’t cool. It was East Bay Ray from the Dead Kennedys. Ouch. Great book. I ran through it.

6. Jed Rasula –  Destruction was my Beatrice

Not a music book by any means, but if you dug Greil Marcus’ Lipstick Traces, you might find this history of Dada really interesting too. I did.

7. Pere Ubu – Terminal Tower

Sometimes it’s good to just walk over and put on something at random. I’ve never truly been a follower of Pere Ubu, but I’ve picked up a few things along the way. Terminal Tower dates to their early days collecting singles and B sides (remember those?) from the 1970s. “Final Solution” still sounds fresh three decades later.

8.  Wilco – Star Wars

Free at Wilco’s site. Till mid-August. Get it now

9. The Heartless Bastards – Restless Ones 

I’ve seen the Heartless Bastards a couple of times, and still have to pick up my ticket for their upcoming show, but this one sounds as if they’re having fun. A great band, and contrary to what someone wrote on their Wikipedia page, they sound nothing like the Black Keys.

10. 20,000 Days on Earth

If you are a Nick Cave fan, you’ve probably already watched this, but why not watch it again? A film about Cave’s twenty thousandth day on Earth (it’s actually a few years from now), takes in rehearsals, and conversations with Cave, his band mates and celebrity friends. It’s poignant, funny, and fascinating. A great film. It was made retrospectively sadder for me, as I watched it a few days before the tragic death of Cave’s son. Nothing can be said which even minimizes such a loss.

1 Comment

  1. tomasronse said,

    Neil,the wilco-thing isn’t working for me. I sent my email as requested, got nothing back. Did you try it?t From: Notes from Underground To: tomronse@yahoo.com Sent: Friday, July 31, 2015 3:54 PM Subject: [New post] Music Notes – July 2015 #yiv3483583141 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3483583141 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3483583141 a.yiv3483583141primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3483583141 a.yiv3483583141primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3483583141 a.yiv3483583141primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3483583141 a.yiv3483583141primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3483583141 WordPress.com | fischerzed posted: “Listen up!1. Blur – Modern Life is RubbishI was never a big Blur fan, but a friend insisted I listen to this charming album.  Yeah, it’s good.2. Sharon Van Etten – I Don’t Want to Let You DownA five-song release of slow stuff, which seems ” | |

Leave a Reply

