Being a Dad (part 8)

August 28, 2014 at 1:49 pm (Uncategorized)

They sure grow up fast. My 14-year-old daughter is starting high school next week and went to a grade 9 orientation this morning. I drove her there.

Years ago, on her first day of daycare, I dropped her off there too. As she realized I was leaving, she burst into tears, crying, “Don’t leave me daddy.” I was crying in the car as I went to work.

Today wasn’t quite so traumatic, but both of us had tears in our eyes. When I tried to explain this to my son later, he looked at me as if I were crazy. He’s right, parents are crazy. How can we not be?

Leave a Reply

