No one is Waiting For My Posts…

August 25, 2014 at 5:03 pm (Uncategorized)

Or are they? I really don’t know.

When I published Red & Black Notes, I had a pretty good idea of who read the thing. I posted copies, and I sold copies directly. Sure, I sold a few in bookstores, but I’d venture that I met or mailed to 90% of those who ever read the thing.

A blog is different. Unless someone subscribes to the blog or posts a comment, I have no idea who reads the thing. It’s quite unnerving at times.

I find too, the pace is very different. With R&BN, although the publication schedule changed over the years, it was fairly regular. The blog tends to go in fits and starts: some months, I publish 3-4 pieces a week, but it’s been two weeks since the last post, and I could offer all sorts of reasons. But I won’t.

Instead, I go on.

Yesterday’s New York Times provided a good insight into the fucked-up world we live in.  no, on, I’m not referring to coverage about the seemingly endless assault on African-Americans by US cops (Ferguson and Staten Island most recently) or even the decapitation beheading fetish some self-styled Islamic radicals are displaying.

No, no. If you pick up the style magazine from yesterday, you’ll see a product comparison with  Jenna Lyons of J Crew and Courtney Love. Among the objects they discuss are a Four and Sons a canine themed literary magazine (at a modest $20 an issue), $1,500 Dior shoes, and a Kara Walker jug with an Aunt Jemimah-ish caricature, and in Courtney’s words: “It’s beautifully rendered, but I think for white people to own it would be kind of tacky.” Uh, huh.

Skip over to the book section and you can see what Malala Yousafzai is reading. Among her favourites, “The Alchemist,” “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz,” “The Kite Runner,” “A Brief History of Time,” and “The Breadwinner.”

She makes no mention of those white Beats $600 headphones with plaster pillow Jenna and Courtney looked at though.

2 Comments

  1. tomasronse said,

    Keep writing. But not about the “American-Americans” … 🙂 t 

    ________________________________

  2. fischerzed said,

    Aargh! Of course that should have read African-Americans, not American Americans. I need a better editor.

Leave a Reply

