Music Notes June 2014 (Digging Through the Back File)

June 27, 2014 at 12:53 pm (Uncategorized)

A little early this time as I’m going out-of-town for a few days.

1. Buffalo Daughter – New Rock

Electronica from Japan. Picked this up around 1999. Quirky rock soundtrack over samples and beats. Not essential, but worth a listen.

2.  Jawbox – Novelty

I saw Jawbox at Lee’s Palace in 1992. Bought the CD, ordered the vinyl and a t-shirt (which I still have). Great sonic assault.

3. The Vibrators – Pure Mania

Terrific pop-punk. Stiff Little Fingers took their name from a song on this record. The Vibrators are scheduled to play the Rockpile East in Toronto in August.

4. The Fall – Totale’s Turns (It’s now or Never)

In 1980 or so, I became a fan of the Fall as they entered their Manc-abilly phase with songs like “How I Wrote Plastic Man” and “Totally Wired.” I bought this live album when I was on holiday with my parents in some little seaside town in Devon. It’s a bit of an assault, on the listener and the audience, but no less wonderful for it.

5. Handsome Ned – The Ballad of Handsome Ned

Posthumously released collection of Toronto country star Handsome Ned. Listen to “In spite of the Danger,” which may have been written about a girl and not wonder if he was talking about the heroin which killed him. Also available as a double set My Name is Ned

6. Cub  – Come Out Come Out

Canada’s Shonen Knife? No, that’s unfair. BC minimalist pop trio’s second album featuring Yoko Ono and Go-=Gos covers as well as some pretty nifty originals.

7. The Jesus and Mary Chain – Darklands

When I first heard this record, I thought “Where’s the feedback?” But you know, over the years, I think I prefer this one to Psychocandy. Great pop songs full of menace. I saw the band only once, at the Concert Hall in Toronto in the 1990s, and they were, well, just OK. This however is brilliant.

8. Rocket From the Crypt – All Systems Go!

Some bands make singles, some make albums, some only play live. RFTC are a great live band, but my preferred medium is the single. All Systems Go is their first singles comp and to my ears works better than the albums,. Short blasts of noise.

9. Spacemen 3 – Taking Drugs to Make Music to Take Drugs To

Whether of not you do take drugs, it’s hard to resist the title of this collection of demos from Spacemen 3. Best song? The rambling minimalist version of Bo Diddley’s “I’m Alright” reworked as “It’s Alright.”

10. Huevos Rancheros – Dig In!

Did you ever wish Shadowy Men were less Surf-guitar and more garage band? Wish no more. Alberta’s Huevos Rancheros provide the perfect instrumental soundtrack to Friday night.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

