Phil Everly 1939 -2014

January 4, 2014 at 6:13 pm (Uncategorized) ()

The death of Phil Everly yesterday at 76 leaves a hole. A huge hole.

The Everly Brothers were one of those bands who influenced generations of singer-songwriters. How many artists can you think of that tried, and quite often failed, to replicate their harmonies? No Simon and Garfunkel; no “Please Please me” (it’s based on “Cathy’s clown”);  no Ravonettes, no… well, you get the picture.

This morning after I heard the news, I dug around for that Everly’s collection I have. Couldn’t find it, but I did find Rockpile’s debut which features the EP, “Nick and Dave sing Don and Phil.” Listened to it, and I’ll admit, they’re pretty good versions of those songs. But when I did find the Everlys record and spun it, there was no comparison (and I suspect Nick and Dave would be the first to admit it).

So however you listen to music, go and find those songs.

Leave a Reply

