Wage Slavery Blues: The Call of September

September 15, 2013 at 8:40 pm (Uncategorized)

It seems I write the same post every year, complete with an appropriate Smiths’ lyric.

Summer is the best time to be unemployed: The weather is nicer; the days are longer; everything is better.

I had a nice little routine this year. Get up. walk the dog. Read the paper and do the puzzles over a cup of coffee. Check my email. Look for work. Do a few chores. That took care of the day. Got up on Monday and the next hing I new it was Thursday.

Only thing was I was broke. And there’s nothing lie making you think about work than watching your bank balance dwindle as the bills pile up.

So eventually, I had to find a job.

A little while searching, filling out applications and then a friend helped out. And as soon as I found out I had the position, the old fear and loathing began to surface. And a part of my waking hours were filled with the question, “How am I going to get all my stuff done now?”

So, altogether then…

“I was looking for a job and then I found a job and heaven knows I’m miserable now.”

Leave a Reply

