Capitalism and Religion (Redux)

September 2, 2013 at 10:44 pm (Uncategorized) (, )

Now after the televangelist scandals of the eighties and beyond died down, I confess I didn’t really keep track of those wacky snake oil salesmen. But when the story is plastered over the front page of the Toronto Star, I had to read it.

Joel Osteen, arguably America’s best known preacher is coming to Toronto. and he has a special message for you: God loves the rich.

“When God started Christianity, the man he chose was Abraham, the wealthiest man in the East,” (Toronto Star September 1, 2013)

Now, I’m not a Christian, but that doesn’t sound quite right to me.  I’m not certain Abraham was the “wealthiest man in the east,” but the notion that God thought, “Hmm, I know, I’ll started a religion called Christianity, and use a Greek word  (Christos – the saviour) to name it, even though that part will come a bit later, and I’ll start with those rich people too. They need saving.”

None of this namby-pamby easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle than a rich man to enter the Kingdom of Heaven nonsense, God loves a winner:

“There’s the teaching that we’re supposed to be poor to show that we’re humble. I don’t buy that. I think we’re supposed to be leaders. We’re supposed to excel.” (ibid.)

Osteen has a $10 million house with three elevators.  If Jesus existed, I suspect he would be appalled.

Leave a Reply

