Dr. Who

August 5, 2013 at 5:53 pm (Uncategorized)

I started watching Dr Who with Jon Pertwee, the third Doctor. I had seen an episode of two with Patrick Troughton , but didn’t become a regular until he had left the show.  I watched as Pertwee regenerated as Tom Baker, but when I moved to Canada in 1981, I couldn’t watch anymore. The eighties doctors were unknown to me.

What’s remarkable about those shows was how the BBC got away with such low-budgets sets. Honestly some of them looked as if they were made of tin-foils. Nevertheless, some of them were genuinely creepy – I think I had nightmares about those giant spiders.

When the reboot was announced in 2005, I re-connected. Christopher Eccelston is a very fine actor, but he just didn’t do it for me. Not sure why. Quirky, but not so charming. David Tennant though was just perfect. So I worried about Matt Smith., but needn’t have – Smith brought a real charm to the show as well.  I’m sorry to see him go.

And yesterday, the BBC announced the new doctor would be Peter Capaldi. Although Capaldi is best known to the world as Malcolm Tucker In the Thick of It, he’s already well-known in the Dr. Who universe, having played Caecilius of Pompeii and a government minister in Torchwood: Children of Earth.

Looking forward to more adventures.

Leave a Reply

