Music Notes June 2013

June 29, 2013 at 10:20 pm (Uncategorized) ()

After the last couple of columns about old stuff, here’s New Music Month! New Music Month! And videos too!

1. Sudden Death of Stars – “I’m not among Believers”

The joke about Cornershop was they were the Jesus and Mary Chain with sitars. OK, how about Spacemen 3 with sitars. My general preference is young, loud and snotty, but there’s something about drone that hooks me in.

2.Sigur Ros – Kveikur

OK, to tell you the truth, I can’t remember any song title let alone pronounce one by Sigur Ros. Nevertheless, as I said about the drone thing, there’s something hypnotic about them. I heard one album ad before I knew it I was getting all of them and learning whatever I could about Iceland. The video is from the Tonight show.

3. Primal Scream – 2013

The first track on Primal Scream’s new record More Light is a return to form. After the back step of Riot City Blues and the sidestep of Beautiful Future, both of which had their moments, this is the Scream back on top. Great song and a creepy video with bondage and butterflies (they’re beautiful insects, but they also weird me out)

4. Beat Mark – “What I want the most”

A pop group from Paris that simultaneously sounds as if they are a Brit indie-pop band recording in California. I’ll admit I’ve not been fond of French pop, but the stuff is growing on me (yeah, I know this is Anglo sounding, but I stand by my point)

5. Noah and the Whale – “Heart of Nowhere”

OK, like the violin, and the song is catchy, but for me the appearance of Anna Calvi on the record is the real reason to listen. New album coming soon.

6. Emily Barker and the Red Clay Halo – Dear River

The new record from the tremendously talented Ms. Baker is out on July 8. Please listen. Please buy.

7. Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds – Mermaids

While Grinderman was sweaty, gritty fun, this is really the sort of thing I expect from Nick Cave. These immensely sad, personal songs. Quite beautiful. I’m not religious, but who can resist a line like “I believe in the rapture because I’ve seen your face…”?

8.  Nine Inch Nails – Come Back Haunted

I’m adding this one even though I don’t really like it. To my ears, it’s not terrible, but for the first half it’s unremarkable, and only serves to highlight how much more interesting Rezner’s side project How to Destroy Angels is. Oh, and WARNING: The Video is full of strobe effects which can cause seizures in some. Directed by David Lynch though.

9. M.I.A. – Bring the Noize

For a moment I dared to hope it was a cover of the Public Enemy song, but hey, it’s fun M.I.A. stuff. Electronica, rap, eye-straining visuals, profanity, odd politics etc. (Hey Richard – if you still read this blog let me know what you think)

10. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Sacrilege”

Ooh, a video withoout Karen and the boys. Had to watch it twice to work it out. Lovely song though.

Leave a Reply

