Oh Yeah, Father’s Day (and I updated some links)

June 16, 2013 at 1:42 pm (Uncategorized)

I view Father’s Day as a Hallmark Holiday. Yeah, yeah, I’m unable to escape my scoialization and will be calling my own dad  later today, but essentailly it’s just an excuse for retailers to guilt-trip us into buying stuff. If you have any doubt then check out any of the fliers that were stuffed through your mail box this week encouraging you to spend hundreds of dollars (or more) for the perfect gift for dad.

Uh huh.

The boy made me a bookmark at school, and there’s talk of the girl making pancakes.

Me? Well, it’s pouring with rain, so the outdoor Amadou and Mariam show looks unlikely. I’m going to spend some time getting ready for work, and I did update some of the links on the blog.

Have a look at the work of Richard Sala .

Terror from Outer Space

Sala is the author of such delightful books as The Chuckling Whatsit, Mad Night and the GRave Digger’s Daughter. Lovely.

I’ve also added a link to Recomposition, (notes for a new workerism), and the Jacobin Magazine (leftist, but not uninteresting)

Enjoy Sunday, and if you cann avoid thinking about Monday, so much the better.

Leave a Reply

