Alexander Cockburn

July 24, 2012 at 12:13 am (Uncategorized) ()

Alexander Cockburn and Christopher hitchens

Ah, back in the day, I read The Nation. I even had a sub for a couple of years. Cockburn’s column, “Beat the Devil” was usually one of the better ones to read. I won’t say I agreed with Cockburn overall, I probably clumsily dismissed his overall politics as Stalinist or left-liberal (leftist would be more accurate) , but it would certainly be accurate to say he wrote well, and disliked a lot of the people I disliked. When he talked about what he liked or his solutions, we usually parted company.

I’ll be honest and say I wasn’t a regular reader of Counterpunch, but often the most interesting columns found themselves in my email box. (Thanks Paul) . Have a look at the New York Times obit. You have to smile about his comment about Hitchens.

Leave a Reply

