Notes on Being a Dad 3: The Avengers

June 17, 2012 at 1:39 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

There comes a point in every parental relationship where you make the shift from being cool to being well, not-so-cool.

My daughter has probably made that jump, but my eight-year-old certainly still gives me props, if only for my extensive knowledge of nerd culture as manifested by my still strong interest in comic book culture.

And so eventually we went to see the Avengers..

SPOILER ALERT – although if you haven’t seen the movie by now, I wonder will it really make a difference?

Regular followers will likely be aware that I’m pretty much willing to see anything Joss Whedon is a part of. Who can blame me? Whedon has consistently produced quality work. Still, the Avengers is such a bit budget potential blockbuster, I’m sure many fans though happy that Joss could potentially make a gazillion dollars, were worried that either the film would suck or it would change him.

We’ll have to wait and see how the latter turns out, but as to the former, it certainly doesn’t suck.

Now I don’t know if missing all the other movies that led us to this one (Iron Man, Hulk, Captain America, Thor) made any difference, but the film thankfully doesn’t spend a great deal of time on set-up. We’re straight into it.

The plot is fairly simple: Thor’s brother Loki seeks revenge for past slights, enlists extra-terrestrial bad guys, all; hell breaks loose. The Avengers stop him. And that’s it.

Still, what makes this film great is not the action sequences (the final battle goes on a little too long for my taste), but the chemistry between the characters, and the clever little asides in dialogue. Sure, Robert Downey Jr gets the lion’s share, but there are plenty to go around.

Some favourite bits of dialogue:

Thor: Loki is still my brother

Black Widow: He killed 80 people yesterday.

Thor (quietly) He’s adopted.

 

Thor: Have you any idea what you’re dealing with?

Iron Man: Shakespeare in the park? (In a theatrical voice) “Doth Mother know you weareth her drapes?”

 

Loki: I am a God!

Hulk (after smashing Loki) Puny God.

 

There’s also quite lovely  cameos by Stan Lee and Harry Dean Stanton.

Several people said to me, “wait until the end” (I’m a bit of a film nerd too, so I always do, but in case you’re considering leaving, don’t). There are two important scenes. The mystery villain is revealed to be Thanos. (I may have gasped – I’m not sure my son was impressed though), and the final one where the cast sits in silence eating schwarmas. (The Thanos scene of course sets up the sequel, but can I hope for a Hawkeye/Black Widow movie at some point? )

So me and the boy were happy. And as I recall that, on Father’s Day, I’m happy again.

Leave a Reply

