First Aid Kit in Toronto – A review

April 8, 2012 at 10:47 pm (Uncategorized)

The last time I went to the Great Hall on Queen Street was to see Sonic Youth and Redd Kross. Must have been at least ten years ago, and as I recall, the show was oversold. So when my wife and I walked up to the venue Wednesday night, a certain queasy feeling came over me. As it turned out, I needn’t have worried, and soon enough we were inside.

I saw First Aid Kit last year when they opened for Lykke Li, but as my main memory of that night was that my car was broken into, their return to Toronto wasn’t top on my list of things to do. My wife however, was knocked out by them, and suggested we go. And I thought, why not?

It was a good idea.

Openers Peggy Sue played a catchy folk-rock blend (heavier on the former). A dodgy sound mix interfered with the first song, but after that, everything came together. The three-piece quickly brought the audience onside playing selections from both their CDs and their new covers record. A tasty opening treat.

First Aid Kit took the stage a little after 10:30, and immediately charmed the sold-out crowd.  I was taken aback by how effortlessly the Swedish sisters created an intimate atmosphere. The Great Hall holds about 700 (by my guess), yet it felt as if we were in a little living room listening to a couple of tremendously talented musicians playing well-crafted pop-songs. During “Ghost Town”  the duo even stepped away from the mikes to sing directly to the audience. And we sang along. In fact, it was surprising just how many people in the audience were singing along with every song in the set.

Perhaps a little poppier than my usual fare, but hey, I have no bad memories from this show.

Leave a Reply

