Split in Notes from Underground?

March 19, 2012 at 1:52 am (Uncategorized)

I used to know a guy named Joe Flexer. Joe was a Trotskyist, had been in the United Secretariat, but had also been a CPer. In the mid-nineties, I even worked on an election campaign of his back in the day. We weren’t really friends, but I did go to his memorial after his death. Anyway, according to the Wikipedia entry, Joe once said, that he belonged to the Joe Flexer Communist Party. The membership was small, but the discussions were very lively.

When I published Red & Black Notes, it was pretty much a one-man show. After I joined IP, I decided to wind up R&BN because I was part of the collective. This blog though is a partial continuance of R&BN, but also a promotion of IP and also my own cultural interests, which include movies and music.

Needless to say, there’s a slightly split personality flavour about the blog.

I can imagine that some of the politicos appreciate the music notes, but I can’t imagine that the cultural followers enjoy the politics (who knows?). And then there are friends and family who read the blog because they think I might have something interesting to say – I guess they don’t listen to me in person  🙂

So anyway, I’m considering splitting this into two separate blogs. One for the politics, one for the other stuff.It might make it easier to digest.

Or maybe I’m wrong. And it’s good to be exposed to different things?

Chime in. Please.

8 Comments

  1. Schalken said,

    I’d follow both, personally. I don’t care about your music notes, to be honest, but the other non-political stuff — of which there’s plenty — that you write about is always interesting and often quaintly touching (I mean that in a nice way).

    Keep up the good work!

    • fischerzed said,

      You don’t care about the music notes! 🙂

      Seriously, thanks for input. and I’ve just added Dictorship Now to the blogroll.

  2. Darren said,

    I think you’re wrong to split the blog into two. Keep it as it is.

    • james said,

      Keep it the way it is. The personal and cultural notes give it a human character that might be lacking in purely political blog.

      • fischerzed said,

        Thanks. And you’ll notice I added Infantile n Disorderly to the blogroll.

    • fischerzed said,

      Thanks, and everyone should visit the Inveresk Street Ingrate blog too!

  3. fischerzed said,

    The masses have spoken! And the message is let’s unite for unity! Two blogs is probably too much for me anyway.

Leave a Reply

