Notes on Being a Dad (Part 2)

March 12, 2012 at 3:04 am (Uncategorized)

Another in an occasional series.

Sundays are usually funny things. Trying to forget last week and not think about next doesn’t usually make for a fun time. I suppose then, that when something good does happen, you need to treasure that moment and remember it when all the other things in life turn to shit.

I had a good day.

In the morning I took my eight-year-old son to the Toronto Comicon down at the convention centre. I’ll write more about this later, but imagine being a kid in a room full of comic books, Star Wars stuff, people in funky costumes and lots of other cool stuff. (OK, so Charisma Carpenter’s efforts to engage him in conversation went poorly, it was still good.)

Did I mention it was 15 degrees in Toronto today. A glorious sunny day. After we got home, the boy said, “Dad, can we play soccer?” And I was in such a good mood that instead of saying, “we’ll see” I agreed. A little later in the afternoon, the question was asked, “Can we play soccer again?” This time, I said no. Then I hesitated…and said yes. I mouthed the old cliché to my wife: one day he won’t ask. And though it breaks my heart to admit it, I know one day he won’t.

And at the end of the day, we finished Neil Gaiman’s marvelous take on Kipling,  The Graveyard Book. (What to read next is a problem, but I’m sure something will be found)

Class society, capitalism, call it what you will, grinds us down.  It strips our lives of joy and turns us into commodities. I like to think that today was, on a micro ultra-personal level, resistance to that. It was an effort, however unconsciously, to be human.  A good day.

 

Leave a Reply

