Music Notes October 2011

November 1, 2011 at 2:32 am (Uncategorized)

Hey, it’s still October where I am, so here’s fine things for your ears

The Jesus and Mary Chain – Psychocandy

All their albums have been reissued with extra tracks and videos. But this is the one you really need. A masterpiece, this one.

Adele – 21

OK, true confessions. My wife got to this one before me. It’s a great record – a sort of cleaned up Amy Winehouse (which is unfair to both). seriously though, she has an amazing voice (let’s hope it survives the surgery) and some great songs. (and a great Cure cover)

3. Steve Ignorant – The Rest is Propaganda

I was a very bit Crass fan as a lad. Needless to say, I was pretty excited to see Steve play on the Last Supper tour this spring. Got my picture taken and got a copy of the book signed. Didn’t read it for several months though. Big mistake. It was a great read. It’s not about Crass, but of course lots of Crass in it. It’s Steve’s autobiography, but working class origins through a chance Clash gig to today. Thoroughly entertaining.

4. Mark E Smith – Renegade

Must be book month then. Yeah, I was a bit of a Fall fan too, although my real familiarity with them ends about Hex Indunction Hour. Smith’s autobiography is a bit like the man himself. Maddening, contrary, fascinating, compulsive, witty, intellectual, opinionated, essential. More of a stream of consciousness than a narrative, it’s best enjoyed in an armchair with a cup of tea (IMHO)

5. The Geraldine Fibbers – What Part of Get Thee Gone Don’t You Understand?

Here’s a band I haven’t thought of in a while. The Geraldine Fibbers were a mid-90s alt-country band from LA (I think). This record is a collection of singles, rarities and some live stuff. Covers of Dolly Parton, Bobby Gentry, Beck and George Jones. Sloppy drunk country. Perfect for the long drive back from nowhere.

6.  Sioxsie and the Banshees – “Strange Fruit”

I was reading the lyrics to the song the other day, when I remembered that Siouxsie had covered this. I dug out the CD and gave it a spin. It’s not the best version of the song by any means, but it’s a bold choice. Siouxsie never had a classically great voice, but she had an impact. It’s worth a listen.  

7. Sigor Rus – ()

Hmm, Icelandic band records 8-song album called () with no song titles. I’ve commented before that I don’t understand why I like this band, but I do. Moody, eerie, atmospheric.

8. The Dum Dum Girls – I Will Be

Their first record. Sugary pop-punk. Will cheer you up, no doubt.

9. The Harder They Come

And should you still need cheering, this soundtrack will do it: Jimmy Cliff, Toots and the Maytals, Desmond Decker and many more. A great movie, a greater soundtrack. If you live in a cold country, this will make winter more tolerable.  

10.  REM

Well, I don’t really like REM after Document, so a large part of their career is outside of my interest. Still, thinking back to when I first heard “Radio Free Europe” and the college rock sound they so influenced (along with the great Mitch Easter)., it’s hard to deny them their place. Sometimes you get to be in the right place at the right time.  Cheers.

Leave a Reply

