The Other Kind of Crisis…Age

July 10, 2011 at 1:49 pm (Uncategorized)

A couple of months back, I had a mini mid-life crisis.

Yeah, it’s my birthday today, and I’m 47. I know men my age are supposed to start an affair with their much younger secretary (don’t have one; no time anyway) or buy a fancy car (can’t afford it, although we are getting a new car at some point in the foreseeable future to accommodate my daughter who refuses to stop growing), so what’s left?

Here’s how it happened. I’m walking back from the mall, and in my hands are two cups of overpriced coffee, and in my pocket is a certified cheque to pay for the dog we’re picking up the next day. And I thought, how did I get here?  (sorry for the Talking Heads lift, but it seemed to fit)

And then we got the dog.

Truth be told, it wasn’t that much of a crisis, but getting a dog seemed like a very respectable thing to do. My daughter had waged a four-year campaign for a dog, and eventually we gave in. I think the final straw was when we discovered I wasn’t allergic to a friend’s dog (thanks Julie!), and so the efforts redoubled.

Lester is a Bichon Frise. A hypoallergenic dog, And it only took him three days to steal my heart. A friend of mine rightly pointed out, it’s like having a toddler for ten years. And yes, there’ a lot of chewing, peeing and pooing, but it’s not without its benefits.

I understand the appeal of a pet. People will always let you down, but a dog’s love is unconditional. And there is something touching about a creature that’s always happy to see you.

While it might seem like an extra chore, there is a sort of zen-like state when you’re walking a dog early in the morning. It’s quiet; it’s peaceful. the only people out are other dog walkers. (At times, it feels as if you’ve joined a secret club where everyone is friendly)

I don’t know if a dog keeps you young or makes you old, but this morning’s birthday walk was a lot of fun.

3 Comments

  1. gmacmedia said,

    That dog is so you! 😉

    Happy B-day, geezer! 😉

    • fischerzed said,

      Cheers.

      The rest of the day invloved gitts (Scott Pilgrim vol 3 and some nice tea),lunch with the family, comic book hunting with my son, beer and an episode of True Blood. Not bad.

  2. tom said,

    Happy birthday

Leave a Reply

