Father’s Day 2011

June 19, 2011 at 1:10 pm (Uncategorized)

Sorry for the gushy tone of this one, but I’d say it’s OK once in a while.

A week or so back, a friend asked me if my kids thought I was cool. without a second’s hesitation I replied, “No. ” Later on, I asked my daughter the same question, and wanting to avoid further ridicule, I provided the context. The result was the same, although her denial took the form of a raised eyebrow and a wry smile.

So it was strange to read a piece in the Globe and Mail entitled Sorry, Dudes. Your dad is hipper than you.  Read for yourself and judge, but it’s partly the ide of blogger Brad Getty who compiles dads stylin’ on his blog Dads are the Original Hipsters .

And you can take the Globe quiz. Oddly, the quiz in the print version is longer, and includes the question for supposed proof of hip-ness ‘did your dad ever wear a fanny pack?’  Proof of coolness? Er, no.  

Can you appear cool to your kids? Probably not.

Still, when my son brought me a little Father’s Day thing he made in class, it didn’t really matter. It’s a great thing being a dad.

Leave a Reply

