Memories of Imants Krumins

June 10, 2011 at 11:51 pm (Uncategorized)

It was with shock and much sadness that I read about the passing of Imants Krumins on June 9, 2011 . 

In 1983, I started at McMaster University in Hamilton. Pretty soon after, I began to volunteer at the student radio station CFMU, and before I knew it I had my own show. There were a number of ‘local legends” working at the station. The first I met was Bruce “Mole” Mowat. Bruce hosted an evening in the burrow, and you couldn’t help but be impressed by his encyclopedic knowledge of music. There was also another guy of interest.  

This guy did the Monday midnight slot, so he was rarely around the station in the day time. He liked punk and hardcore, and had a delivery that reminded me of John Peel.  But there were stories: He was in his thirties; he worked in a bank, he lived with his parents. (the first two were true; don’t know about the third).

Eventually I met Imants. He was a genuinely nice guy who really loved music. In the third year I worked at CFMU, I had the slot before Imants’ show, so we often talked about various bands and records. I remember a conversation about the Jesus and Mary Chain, which he thought were fantastic, while I shrugged (I stand corrected – they are fantastic).  Radio shows, live shows, the Gown and Gavel. I won’t say we were close, or even that we were friends, but he was part of a circle of people who cared about music, cool music, that I admired.

I moved away from Hamilton in 1987, and saw Imants rarely after that. The last time I saw him was three years ago at the Hamilton Anarchist bookfair. We talked for a while and that was that.

Imants Krumins was only 59. Far too young to go.

3 Comments

  1. Al said,

    The third one was true, not only did he live with his parents at that time but he lived with them right up ’til the end. That was just part of his individuality. In true rebel style he did what suited him and didn’t care about social norms or what others thought.

  2. fischerzed said,

    As many have noted. An original.

  3. Memories of Lives Past: It’s the Return of the Dik Van Dykes | Notes from Underground said,

    […] were the Krumones, a tribute to the Ramones who borrow their name from the late, and very great Imants Krumins.  and who played a great selection of Ramones […]

Leave a Reply

