Farewell Elisabeth Sladen

April 19, 2011 at 9:05 pm (Uncategorized)

I’m not sure if Dr. Who is something you have to watch from childhood or you can grow into it later. I fall into the first group, and started watching with the third doctor, Jon Pertwee. I have vague memories of the second doctor Patrick Troughton, but I think the TV must have been on rather than me watching it.

I think the first companion I saw was Katy Manning as Jo Grant, but she was replaced by Elisabeth Sladen who played Sarah Jane Smith from 1973 to 1976.  (I’m still spooked by the Planet of the Spiders episodes)

So, I was saddened today to hear of Sladen’s passing at the age of 63.

I never watched the spin-off Sarah Jane Adventures, but I really liked the David Tennant episode School Reunion which saw Sarah Jane and the Doctor brought back.  Of course it was bittersweet since he was still young, and she was thirty years older. Even a time Lord can’t stop the passage of time.

Leave a Reply

