(Tell me why) I don’t like Sundays

February 20, 2011 at 4:21 pm (Uncategorized)

Four Sundays ago, on the coldest day of the year with the temperatures in the minus-20s, my furnace died. I slept in the living room was the temperature slowly dropped. One freezing day and several thousand dollars later, heat slowly began to return to my body.

Three Sundays ago, I got violently ill. Vomiting and all the other stuff you usually associate with food poisoning. No solids for three days.

Two Sundays ago, I was on the verge of starting a new job. The day was spent worrying  and generally being unable to relax.

Last Sunday, sick again. This time milder.

Today, I’m going to a friend’s to play video games, but I have to admit there’s a little feeling of trepidation in the back of my head.

Someone, I forget who now, once wrote that Sunday is the worst day of the week because we are still trying to forget last week, and not think about next. Friday night is the best night of the week because it is on the cusp of two days of which possibilities are endless. Sunday the worst because those possibilities are over, and work beckons.

As Joe Strummer once wrote, Monday’s coming like a jail on wheels.

Enjoy the day. If you can.

Leave a Reply

