Neil Young in Mojo

February 13, 2011 at 3:43 pm (Uncategorized)

My first Neil Young record was 1979’s Rust Never Sleeps.  I bought it in a news agents next to the supermarket where I worked (the same place where I bought Crossing the Red Sea with the Adverts, but I digress)

A couple of years later, I moved to Canada. A friend in high school was a big Neil Young fan (he also got me into Dylan), and we saw Young play at Maple Leaf Gardens when he was promoting Trans. The last time I saw Young play was in the mid-nineties where he played the CNE along with Sonic Youth and Pearl Jam.

Young has  always one of those performers who although he was a hippie was enjoyed by the punks as well. (and I might add by the grunge kids.)

The February issue of Mojo has a massive piece on Young along with a re-recording of Harvest. And like many of the profiles they publish a list of his best songs as chosen by who knows. I like lists because no one can ever agree on them. Anyway here’s the top twenty:

20 A Man Needs a Maid

19 Hey Hey My My (into the Black)

18 Old Man

17 Expecting to Fly

16 Tell me Why

15 Southern Man

14 Cortez the Killer

13 Ohio

12 Powderfinger

11Tonight’s the Night

10 Everybody Knows this is Nowhere

9 The Needle and the Damage Done

8 Mr Soul

7 Down by the River

6 Helpless

5 Like a Hurricane

4 Only Love Can Break Your Heart

3 Heart of Gold

2 Cinnamon Girl

1 After the Gold Rush

So there you have it.  And quite a few of these are on the Decades 2-CD set. That and Rust Never Sleeps are good places to start.

2 Comments

  1. Ballnoir said,

    Hi! How are you doing? I like Neil Young very much.
    Will he be Toronto at the bottom of next month?

    • fischerzed said,

      I don’t think Neil is touring right now. I see he’s playing the Bonnaroo (spelling?) festival in Tennessee, but that’s in a couple of months.

Leave a Reply

