Notes on Being a Dad (Part 1)

November 30, 2010 at 1:55 am (Uncategorized)

If, as Oscar Wilde had it, a cynic knows the price of everything and the value of nothing, I might have to turn in my membership card.

Last week, I took my daughter to her first basketball tournament. A month earlier, she tried out for the school basketball team and made it. Since this was her first major sporting participation, I could hardly miss it.

So off we drove to the north-west of the city: me, my daughter, two of her fellow-teammates and another parent (I did wonder if I was some kind of soccer mum).

I’m not much of a sports person. Sure, I’m good for soccer and the World Cup, and I’ll watch tennis if it happens to be on, but generally I prefer a good book. Then a funny thing happened. Halfway through “our” (yeah, that was funny too) team’s second game, I realized I was on my feet shouting advice, “Shoot! Shoot!”  Huh? My daughter tugged on my jacket: “Dad, sit down.”

A little while later as we sat against the other wall watching another team, I realized my daughter was leaning against me watching the game. If I was a vampire with a soul cursed by Roma, I would have lost it for sure (if you’re not a Buffy fan, I ask, why not?) .

In the end, our team came in second, losing their final game, but I’ve seldom been prouder. It’s a funny thing being a parent. And yes, it does make me  want to make the world a better place.

4 Comments

  1. gmacmedia said,

    nice post mr. f. I can knew you had an inner jock stached deep insidde. Good thing your daughter doesn’t play hockey or you’d find yourself doing the same thing, only at 6:00 am on a Saturday. Looking forward to parts 2-10.

    • fischerzed said,

      Part 2 is coming soon: This time, the boy!

  2. ballnoir said,

    Being a Dad is a wondful thing. I totally agree with your last sentence in this post.

    I was one of your students a year ago, and I liked your atitudes of the life and music your showed here.Msy I know whether you liked watching movies? Did you like to watch the kind of movie like ” Capitalism: A Love Story” IF you did, can you post what did you think about it.
    Thanks

    • fischerzed said,

      Thanks. Ah, I haven’t seen the Michael Moore film yet. I enjoy Moore’s work but usually only as critique. In other words, I usually like it when he makes fun of things I don’t like. When he proposes solutions, I usually disagree with him.

Leave a Reply

