S#$% my daughter says

June 19, 2010 at 6:27 pm (Uncategorized)

With apologies to that other blog/book/movie

Scene: Saturday morning, the living room, the Decemberists’ cover of “I’m Sticking with You” is playing.  

Daughter: Dad, why do you listen to so many weird songs?

Me: It’s a Velvet Underground cover.

Daughter: So?

I guess you never really do look cool to your children. She also drew a bra and various feminine effects on the picture of Iggy Pop on this week’s Now magazine. My wife suggested I take it to tonight’s show. somehow, I think Iggy would be cool with it.

But on a brighter note, my daughter told her teacher that she was afraid I would be arrested at the G-20 protests in Toronto next week. I guess she does love me. 🙂

Her teacher told her not to worry. It doesn’t usually happen. Here’s hoping then.

3 Comments

  1. Jo said,

    🙂 A familiar scene.
    I guess she does love you, and also worry about you.
    Maybe tell her more will shed some of her anxiety.

  2. Jo said,

    and…
    Happy Father’s Day!

  3. Darren said,

    “I guess you never really do look cool to your children. She also drew a bra and various femine effects on the picture of Iggy Pop on this week’s Now magazine.”

    Maybe she agrees with the rest of us that it’s about time Iggy covered up.

Leave a Reply

