A new kind of Veteran

November 19, 2009 at 3:49 am (Uncategorized)

A friend of mine wrote this while travelling back home.

I saw something today at Sea-Tac airport that I had not seen before, and that I found to be a little startling. I was waiting for my flight to Vancouver in the waiting area by the gate for my plane (until it was cancelled). I saw a couple sit down across from me and over a bit, the woman looking to be in her fifties, and the man seemed to me to probably be in his forties. I saw he had on one of those veteran’s baseball caps with the eagle and something else in the middle, and writing above and below curving around them. I didn’t give them much notice at first, except that the guy didn’t seem to be very happy saying whatever it was he was saying to her. But a while later I looked over at him again, and I decided I would read what the writing on his cap actually said. Expecting to see … well, you can guess, if you’ve ever seen one of these, and if you’re like me, you’ve seen quite a few of them over the years. I think they usually mention their regiment or whatever, maybe a base location or something like that. I never really gave it much mind, typically dismissing them as “proud” veterans displaying their “credentials”, and thus as reactionary moron warriors. But I was genuinely startled when I read what I saw on this guy’s cap. It said above the middle symbol “Dysfunctional Veteran”, and below it was “Leave me alone”. I almost wanted to say something to him, but since he clearly wanted to be left alone and considering his unpleasant mood then, I decided to forget that. But I won’t forget what I saw then. I wonder if there are any more caps like that around? I can’t believe that only one like that exists. Maybe they will become slightly popular among the “new” veterans of the Iraq and Afghanistan/Pakistan wars.

Leave a Reply

