Kathleen Edwards in Don Mills

August 4, 2009 at 12:46 pm (Uncategorized)

There are two types of free shows: The ones where you think, ‘well, at least I didn’t pay for that,’ and the ones were you think, ‘Wow! That was definitely worth paying to see.’  Kathleen Edwards, who played a free show at the Don Mills mall on Sunday  is definitely worth paying to see.    

I have to admit that I wasn’t that familiar with Edwards’ work. I knew she was Canadian and played alt-country (or whatever that genre is called now), but apart from that I couldn’t supply much detail.

Edwards and her band played an hour long set which built momentum throughout. The early numbers were reminiscent of  Whiskeytown, and I thought this is a pleasant surprise. Then, it happened. About twenty minutes into the set, I was hooked: Was it the songs, full of hooks, or just the overall sound (acoustic and electric guitars hamonica, harmony vocals)? I don’t know, but you couldn’t help but be drawn into the performance.  I can’t remember the names of any of the songs, but Google, Wikipedia and Ms. Edwards web site stand ready to assist.

Great artist; great show.

Leave a Reply

