Love in Vain

April 30, 2009 at 12:51 am (Uncategorized)

Yesterday, I was writing a three-paragraph biography of Robert Johnson for work (not a bad job then). Anyway, as I typed, I decided to dig out the Box set, The Complete Recordings.  

First song: ‘Kindhearted Woman Blues.’ Second song, a different version of ‘Kindhearted Woman Blues.’ Third song, ‘I Believe I’ll Dust My Broom.” About forty seconds into the track, my daughter calls down:

‘Dad, this is horrible. Put something else on.’

‘But, it’s Robert Johnson.’

“Well, he’s not very good.’

I put on Down By the Jetty by Dr. Feelgood. As Wilko Johnson’s driving guitar for Roxette came through the speakers, she sighed, ‘Finally, a good song.’

At work, they agreed with my daughter.

Now, I have to find that Katie Perry song my daughter wants on her Ipod. It’s hard being a parent.

Leave a Reply

