Franklin Rosemont

April 14, 2009 at 10:19 pm (Uncategorized)

Chicago poet, surrealist, wobbly, author, historian, bookseller, and so much more Franklin Rosement died on Sunday April 12 from a stroke he was 65.

I met Franklin only once. I was in Chicago in the summer of 2003 visiting family. We had lunch at a local cafe and then went back to the Charles H Kerr headquarters. I met Franklin’s partner Penelope there.

I can’t add much to what will doubtless be said more eloquently by people who knew him better than me. 

I will recommend that people who didn’t know Franklin, seek out any one of the amazing number of volumes he produced. My own favourites are Dancin’ in the Street! Anarchists, IWWs, Surrealists, Situationists and Provos in the 1960s, and Surrealist Subversions.

Amazing. A loss. A real loss.

1 Comment

  1. Surrealist Movement in the U.S. – Appreciation of Franklin Rosemont « Notes from Underground said,

    […] By fischerzed Leave a Comment Categories: Uncategorized I posted a brief appreciation of Franklin Rosemont earlier this year. I came across this piece by the Surrealist Movement in the United States last […]

Leave a Reply

