Holly Golightly in Toronto

November 13, 2008 at 11:37 pm (Uncategorized)

Last night was one of those special shows. Holly Golightly and Lawyer Dan at the Horseshoe Tavern. Too often, when you really wait for something, you find you’ve built it up into something unreal, but the show was just about as good as I imagined.

The opening act, Allie Hughes went on about 9:45, and played what seemed to me an overlong set of her “Melodramatic indie pop” (at least that’s what her myspace page says). The crowd enjoyed it, but as I don’t want to be nasty, I’ll just say, it wasn’t my thing.

Holly and Dave went on about 11. Their set began with “Crow Jane” and contained a lot of songs from their last album “You Can’t Buy a Gun While You’re Crying.” They played for a little over an hour, and boy did it go quickly. Take some country, some blues, some garage, some twangy rockabilly guitar and mix it up , and there you go.

 I’ll admit, I’m a fairly recent (last couple of years) convert to the Church of Holly. I’m embarrassed to say that the first time I heard her was with her cover of the Kinks “Tell me now, so I’ll Know” over the credits to Jim Jarmusch’s “Broken Flowers.”  A few days later, I happened across the new issue of Mojo which had a free Kinks covers CD including the song. I”ve bought a number of her albums, and they’re all great.  A good place to begin is the compilation “My First Holly Golightly album” or “Singles round Up.’ Have a look at the web site too. Or check out her previous band Thee Headcoatees.

Leave a Reply

