The Magic of the Movies

February 25, 2013 at 3:00 am (Uncategorized)

Did you win in your office Oscar pool? I’m not even sure if there was one at my workplace this year. To be honest, I paid less attention this year than any time since, well, ever. I

So instead of watching the bloated self-congratulatory mess that is the Academy Awards, I watched Martin Scorsese’s 2011 love letter to the movies, Hugo.  (I could have watched Cinema Paradiso, but this was good too). I cried throughout the movie. It’s lovely.

Do you remember your first movie? Mine was Disney’s Jungle Book.  I went with my dad and my cousin Richard and his dad. I don’t remember much about the actual experience, but it was magical.  In Hugo Jude Law’s character is quoted to the effect that seeing a movie like seeing your dreams when you’re awake. Ain’t it the truth?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

